

QUEENSLAND FAMILY HISTORY SOCIETY INC. Annual General Meeting, Wednesday 15 June 2022

MINUTES

1. **OPENING:** President Kevin Haley opened the meeting at 7:35 pm.

2. **MEMBER ATTENDANCE:** 22 at QFHS Library plus one visitor; 24 online via Zoom. Names listed at end. Chairman read a welcome to country, and welcomed the visitor.

3. **MEMBER APOLOGIES:** Kerry Raymond, Lynette Moxham, Dorothy Jeffrey, Rosemary Kopittke, Robert Adamson, Mary Geiger, Jeanette D'Arcy, Lyn Hooper

4. **GUESTS:** Anne Pollitt

5. MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 16 June 2021

Moved by Clem Ditton that the minutes of the last AGM be accepted. Seconded by Chris Schuetz. Carried

6. **BUSINESS ARISING FROM MINUTES:** none

7. PRESIDENT'S REPORT:

Kevin Haley reported that the Society had successfully weathered a second year of pandemic. A full program of activities was carried on, albeit with somewhat restricted social content. He mentioned that the search for replacement premises had been revived with recent contact from BCC. Regarding membership, he reported that, because Library visitation had declined somewhat, it had been decided not to open on Sundays. He then ran comprehensively through the activities for the year. He concluded by thanking many individual team leaders, all volunteers, and the executive and members of the Management Committee.

Moved by Lyndal Cosgrove that the President's Report be accepted. Seconded by Allana O'Kane. Carried

8. TREASURER'S REPORT:

Doug Eager summarised a solid year, with activity and finances settling back a little after the good year in 2021. He explained anomalies in Journal and in Insurance in the Profit & Loss report. Also drew attention to the auditor's qualification of Library valuation in the Balance Sheet – should be reviewed for next year. He was confident about future operations, but apprehensive about the pressing need to shift premises. Members commented extensively on the Library valuation issue.

The Treasurer moved that the report be accepted. Seconded by Gayle Thomsett. Carried.

9. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR: Doug Eager moved and Wendy Angliss seconded that we seek to retain Brian Tucker as auditor.

10. ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE:

Richard Cosgrove took the chair and conducted the election of Management Committee and executive. He read the nominations as follows:

Office	Name	Member #	Proposer	Member #	Seconder	Member #			
President									
	Allana O'Kane	M5445	Sue Reid	M174	John Perryn	M2504A			
Vice-President Vice-President									
	Alex Daw	M1273A	Patricia Smith	M5693	Rosemary Gall	M4634			
	Charlotte Sale	M5213	Alex Daw	M1273A	Patricia Smith	M5693			
Secretary									
	Anna Gallagher	M6247	Allana O'Kane	M5445	Alison Gardiner	M5839			
Treasurer									
	Judy Cronin	M5522	Charlotte Sale	M5213	Allana O'Kane	M5445			

Office	Name	Member #	Proposer	Member #	Seconder	Member #			
Committee Member									
	Caroline Brudell	M5456	Beverley Young	M4920	Allana O'Kane	M5445			
	Lyndal Cosgrove	M5398B	Jackie Buttress	M1235A	Allana O'Kane	M5445			
excl	Alex Daw	M1273A	Patricia Smith	M5693	Rosemary Gall	M4634			
	Clem Ditton	M3002A	Helen Evans	M3002B	Alison Gardiner	M5839			
	Chris Gibbs	M5069	Charlotte Sale	M5213	Carolyn Grimward	M5504			
excl	Allana O'Kane	M5445	Lyndal Cosgrove	M5398B	Chris Schuetz	M3743			
excl	Charlotte Sale	M5213	Chris Gibbs	M5069	Carolyn Grimward	M5504			
	Chris Schuetz	M3743	Lyndal Cosgrove	M5398B	Dorothy Jeffrey	M1398			
	Beverley Young	M4920	Patricia Smith	M5693	Dette Glenday	M1276			
	John Young	M4156	Clem Ditton	M3002A	Allana O'Kane	M5445			

There being only one nomination for each executive position, Mr Cosgrove declared them appointed to their respective positions. He then called for a motion appointing the other seven nominees to the committee. Moved Geoff Morgan, Seconded Lurline Gedge, carried with acclamation.

Allana O'Kane assumed the chair.

The incoming President thanked the Management Committee 2021-2022 for their contributions over the past year and outline a number of challenges that lay ahead for the Society and the Committee.

One of the main focuses for the new Committee would be to identify new suitable premises. In the meantime, maintenance was required in the current one.

Additionally, IT infrastructure would require replacement and consultation with the Technical Advisory Group has already commenced.

The State Govt requires all associations to revise their Constitution and introduce new procedures. Society membership must be replenished and strengthened.

The new President believes that for the Society to survive and thrive, it needs a healthy combination of satisfied current members and an innovative 21st-century approach to gaining new members and looks forward to working with the new Management Committee for the benefit of the Society.

- 11. GENERAL BUSINESS: none
- 12. NEXT ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Wednesday 21 June 2023
- 13. Meeting closed at 8:50 pm

Gayle Thomsett then conducted the other interest of the evening, the **Queensland Family History Book Award**. She congratulated all eight entries, mentioning the range of goals among the authors. She also encouraged future entrants to fully use index, citations and bibliography which are valuable for networking their writing into their communities. She then announced *Shaking the Mulga* by Clem Ditton as the winner.

Elaine Eager Secretary

Attendance - page 2

Attendance

At QFHS rooms

Caroline Brudell M5456 Lyndal Cosgrove M5398b Richard Cosgrove M5398A Di Coster M5120A Barry Coster M5120B Jenny Davidson M4942A Clem Ditton M3002A Elaine Eager M5334A Doug Eager M5334B Helen Evans M3002B Dale Fogarty M1853

Wendy Angliss M4363A

Chris Gibbs M5069 Carolyn Grimward M5504 Kevin Haley M942A

Lurline Gedge M4356

Joan Murphy M3336 Allana O'Kane M5445 Chris Schuetz M3743

Geoff Morgan M3144

Gayle Thomsett 4610A John Young M4156

Online on Zoom

Sarah Barry M4971 Stanley Clark M2671 Alex Daw M1273A

Alex Daw M1273A
Susan der Kinderen M5526
Nancy Edwards M5518A
Rosemary Gall M4634
Alison Gardiner M5839
Jocelyn Gould M6453
Patricia Kelly M1777
Eric Kopittke M721a
Ruth Linde M5621
Doug Moss M5463A
Joan Moss M5463B
John Perryn M2504A
Jude Perryn M2504A
Jude Perryn M2504B
Kim Polley M6426
Sue Reid M174
Charlotte Sale M5213

Patricia Smith M5693 Ann Swain M5a

To<mark>ny Sw</mark>ain M5b Pat<mark>ricia Van G</mark>aalen M4177

Chris Wright M1916 Beverley Young M4920

